Emailing your doctor: would you choose convenience over privacy?

Gigaom

Almost every time I get in touch with my doctor, I feel like I’ve gone back in time.  Getting an answer to a simple question involves multiple rounds of phone tag. Sharing documentation requires finding a fax machine or using snail mail. Even leaving a basic message for the doctor means navigating through a frustrating maze of voice mailbox commands.

As with most other parts of my life, my impulse is to use email to communicate with the doctor. But, except for some administrative messages, every physician I’ve had has shut me down.

More startups and health technology companies are developing and offering secure platforms that enable patients and doctors to communicate electronically.  But a crowdfunding campaign on Medstartr is trying to take a low-tech approach to help solve this high-tech problem.

Launched by Boston healthcare attorney David Harlow, and backed by Fred Trotter, a well-known data…

View original post 665 more words

Leave a Reply

